Amaury Guyot

Happy pairings

Amaury Guyot, head bartender and owner of the Dersou restaurant, specialized in food pairing, in Paris.

Do you remember when you first came across Dolin?

I believe it was in 2007, when I was starting to get interested in cocktails. It’s probably one of the first vermouths I bought to make my first Martini and Manhattan.

What Dolin product(s) do you have on your back bar?

I’ve got Dolin Dry, Dolin Rouge and sometimes Dolin Bitter.

What type of cocktails do you make with Dolin? The classics or contemporary creations?

Generally, vermouth is an alcohol that backs up a spirit giving it a little more depth and contrast. As a result, its aromatic qualities allow us, not only to create all the classics, but also to move away from these and come up with original creations. Bartenders like and respect Dolin due to the quality of its products, without the need for excessive marketing.

Are you a fan of the recent food & cocktail pairing trend?

The idea caught my interest in 2013, a year after Sherry Butt opened, when I met the chef, Taku Sekine, who is now my partner at Dersou. We decided to build a business model based on a concept of a restaurant offering only a tasting menu with a cocktail pairing. As the classic setup of a cocktail bar is not adapted to that of a restaurant, everything has been redesigned and reworked to create interesting pairings. The alcoholic content had to be reduced to complement the entire menu based on a fusion of Franco-Asian cuisine. Vermouth is perfect for lightening up the spirits that are a little too strong, without losing any flavors and complexities.

  • Amaury Desrou

    Amaury’s pairings

    Starter: a very aromatic short drink cocktail based on Dolin red, sake and gin with a ceviche-based starter.

    • Cocktail

      This is a dry cocktail that combines several spirits cultures, those of France, Japan and Great Britain: Dolin Rouge, sake and gin. The Dolin red gives this clever mix a vinous and herbaceous side.
      Ingredients: 35ml Dolin red, 15ml sake, 10ml gin, 1 bar-spoon kiwi-pepper leaf syrup, 2 dashes dandelion bitters.
      Method: prepared in a mixing glass and then served in an Old-Fashioned glass over a large cube of ice and garnished with a eucalyptus leaf.

    • Dish

      A light and iodized starter consisting of a ceviche of maigre, cream of kohlrabi, and a granita of fromage blanc.

    • Idea behind the pairing

      At Dersou, we are always looking for the perfect match. Here, we pair a dry cocktail and a starter of marinated fish, a seasonal vegetable and a touch of dairy. The vermouth emphasizes the freshness of this dish while the cocktail plays the role of seasoning.

Welcome to the Dolin website

Are you of legal drinking age in your country?

Yes No

Please drink responsivly.

Amaury Guyot

Des mariages heureux

Amaury Guyot, chef barman et propriétaire du restaurant Dersou, spécialisé dans le food pairing à Paris.

Te rappelles-tu ta première rencontre avec Dolin ?

De mémoire, cela devait être en 2007, au moment où que je commençais à m’intéresser aux cocktails. C’est probablement l’un des premiers vermouths que j’ai achetés pour réaliser mes premiers Martinis et Manhattans.

Quel(s) produit(s) Dolin as-tu sur tes étagères ?

J’ai sur mes étagères du Dolin Dry, Dolin rouge et parfois du Dolin bitter.

Quel type de cocktail travailles-tu avec Dolin ? Classiques ? Créations ?

Généralement, le vermouth représente un alcool qui vient en renfort d’un spiritueux pour lui conférer un peu de profondeur et de contraste. Du coup, ses atouts aromatiques permettent non seulement de travailler tous les classiques mais aussi de s’en éloigner et de partir sur la réalisation de créations pures. Dolin garde une légitimité très forte auprès des barmen pour la qualité de ses produits, sans un besoin de marketing excessif.

Es-tu un adepte de cette nouvelle tendance de cocktail food pairing ?

L’idée est venue me titiller en 2013, un an après l’ouverture du Sherry Butt lorsque j’ai rencontré le chef Taku Sekine, qui est aujourd’hui mon associé à Dersou. Nous avons décidé de construire un business model sur un concept de restaurant proposant uniquement un menu « dégustation » autour du cocktail pairing. Le format classique d’un cocktail de bar n’était pas adapté à celui d’un restaurant donc tout a été repensé et retravaillé pour créer des accords intéressants. Le volume de degré alcoolique a dû être obligatoirement diminué pour s’allier avec l’ensemble du menu dirigé vers une cuisine fusion franco-asiatique. Le vermouth est ainsi une arme de choix pour venir atténuer des spiritueux un peu trop puissants sans tout autant perdre saveurs et complexités.

  • Amaury Desrou

    Les accords d'Amaury

    Entrée : un cocktail short drink très aromatique à base de Dolin rouge, de saké et de gin avec une entrée à base de ceviche.

    • Cocktail

      C’est un cocktail sec qui associe plusieurs cultures de spiritueux, la France, le Japon et la Grande-Bretagne : le Dolin rouge, le saké et le gin. Le Dolin rouge apporte le côté vineux et herbacé au savant mélange.
      Ingrédients : 35 ml de Dolin rouge 35ml, 15 ml de saké, 10 ml de gin, 1 barspoon de sirop kiwi-feuille de poivrier, 2 dashes de Bitter Pissenlit.
      Réalisation : au verre à mélange et à dresser dans un verre style old fashioned sur un gros cube et une feuille d’eucalyptus en garnish.

    • Plat

      Une entrée légère et iodée composée d’un ceviche de maigre, de crème de choux rave, et granite de fromage blanc.

    • Idée de l'accord

      Chez Dersou, on recherche toujours l’accord parfait. Ici, on marie judicieusement un cocktail sec et une entrée à base de poisson mariné, d’un légume de saison et d’une touche lactée. Le vermouth souligne toute la fraîcheur de cette assiette, tandis que le cocktail joue le rôle d’assaisonnement.

Bienvenue sur le site de la maison Dolin

Avez-vous l'âge légal pour consommer de l'alcool dans votre pays de résidence ?

Oui Non

L'abus d'alcool est dangereux pour la santé. À consommer avec modération.